Spring in the Mountains

With the long and snowy winter we had this year, I guess I had forgotten the stages of spring that we have here in the mountains.  When we have several sunny and warm days in a row, a return to cool weather takes one by surprise.  They say first we must have “Redbud Winter”, followed by “Dogwood Winter”, and finally “Blackberry Winter”.  There may be a few other “winters” in there, but those are the ones I have heard named.  Right now the trees are beginning to bud out.  On our daily walks, I have spied the bright yellow of forsythia and the orangey-pink of flowering quince.  The pear, plum, and magnolia trees are blooming alongside the fluorescent green of the willows.  The daffodils and hyacinths are filling the air with fragrance.  The redbuds are showing signs of soon bursting forth in their bright pink hues.  The redbuds are my favorite spring blossoms.  Someday I would love to paint the pinks and greens of early spring against the otherwise bare purple-brown mountains.

blog pics 049 blog pics 048

I have been watching for sprouting vegetables.  This week the spinach and lettuce are just barely peeking up through the ground, and today I saw some tips of onions.  No sign of potatoes or beets yet, and we have not been out to our plot to check on the peas. 

Saturday we attended a lovely little festival in town.  In celebration of mountain arts and culture, we had some of the best soup beans I have ever tasted with cornbread.  I tasted some homemade blackberry and muscadine jams.  I had to be reminded what muscadine is.  It is similar to grape.  In the restored theater, we heard a Navajo flute player and an African-American singer of spirituals.  At the library, the children enjoyed playing with marbles, tiddly-winks, pick-up-sticks, and yo-yos.  The craft store hosted a cake-walk, and our daughter won some orange creamsicle fudge.  There were craft vendors and demonstrators of cornhusk dolls, wood carving, scroll-saw art, crocheting, broom making, and bowl carving.  I think the reason I enjoyed this particular festival was the fact that there were no commercial vendors, no carnival, just a nice hometown atmosphere.  I was very excited to find out that the local college is planning to start a farmer’s and art market in June.

Thank the Lord for a beautiful and relaxing week-end.  I am grateful for the gift of Sunday, a day of worship and rest, that prepares us to begin a new week of work and school.

3 thoughts on “Spring in the Mountains

  1. It all sounds beautiful! You’re a little ahead of us, I think, as far as what is blooming right now.

    By the way, how is your celery doing that you started from an old stalk? I just tried that a couple days ago and can barely see a little growth…if I squint and look at it really hard. 😉 Are you supposed to just keep it in water, or do you plant it in soil after a while? We’ve never grown celery, so I’m completely a novice! 🙂

    Like

    1. Davene, Our celery is still growing. It takes a few days, but yours sounds right. I’m waiting until it is warm enough to plant it outside. I’ve read you can plant it in a pot of dirt inside or outside in the dirt. This is our first time too, so we will see how it works.

      Like

  2. Stephanie, it sounds beautiful there with all the colors you have described. Also, the festival would be a very interesting and fun day for me also. The children, I can picture, as truly interested in everything around them. We do miss you folks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

