Learning about Wild Greens

A few weeks ago, the children and I went on a field trip to learn about edible wild greens. A friend of mine who was born and raised in the mountains led our group of home schooled students and parents on the walk. For a number of years, I have been interested in learning to identify wild greens. I found it difficult to be able to identify plants from a description in the pamphlets and drawings I saw. The only green I was familiar with was dandelion. When I was a girl, I remember my grandmother collecting dandelion leaves for a salad. The walk was so helpful because I could see the plants in person and take notes on their uses.

Since then, we have been on the lookout for wild edibles. I gather my greens from our yard which we do not treat and from an untended lot that we pass on our daily walks. Dock, dandelion, and plantain are what I have used. The small young leaves have the best flavor in my opinion. We have tasted them cooked and raw. The first time, I sauteed the greens with a slice of bacon and salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Later, I mixed wild greens with my own spinach and leaf lettuce for a green salad. Both ways were delicious. I am thankful that God our Creator has made these tasty and nutritious plants so readily available in nature. They are what most of us call weeds and what I have tried to keep out of my gardens in the past. I look at these plants in a new light now.

blog pics 109

Plantain
Plantain
Dandelion
Dandelion
Dock
Dock
2 thoughts on “Learning about Wild Greens

  1. a former neighbor would not pulls what we called “weeds” because “they had such a pretty flower when blooming”

    Like

Leave a Reply

