Serving Red Beets

Red beets in the garden
Red beets in the garden

I am on a quest to find new ways of serving red beets. Growing up, my mom made pickled red beets and occasionally harvard beets which are basically the hot version of pickled beets. Our daughter and I enjoy the pickled beets, but the man and boys of the family not so much. Last week, we pulled a few of the larger beets from the garden. Having read that some people enjoy beets raw and since our children have delighted in tasting other vegetables raw from the garden, I peeled and sliced a beet for everyone to try. I didn’t realize how beautiful raw beets are once they are peeled and sliced! They are marbled with vibrant magenta and pink.  Anyway, again it was the girl and I who pronounced them good. In my opinion, the taste and texture is similar to a raw carrot.  For lunch that day, I enjoyed raw beets on my fresh lettuce salad.

My next step was to Google beet recipes. Surprisingly, I didn’t find very many ideas, so I resorted to experimenting.  Here’s what I came up with for supper.  I’ll call it a Garden Vegetable Skillet.

Brown 1 lb. of ground meat (I used turkey) in a large frying pan. Add a diced onion, 1 teaspoon each of garlic and Italian seasoning, 1/4 cup of fresh parsley, 6 medium sized diced potatoes, 2 cups of diced cabbage, 2 medium sized diced red beets, and a bit of water to keep the vegetables from sticking to the pan. Cover and bring to a boil, then lower temperature to simmer until vegetables are tender, about 30 minutes. All of my measurements are approximate and you can adjust to your taste and what you have available. Everyone seemed to enjoy it, or at least I didn’t hear any complaints!

One thought on “Serving Red Beets

  1. Glad to meet someone who faces the same challenge—adding beets on our family’s meals. Thanks again for dropping by my post on Scarlet Salad (recipe borrowed from another food blogger, freshncrunchy.net). Do try it, it’s really yummy. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

