Bounty and Beauty in Small Spaces

In the past few days, here is what has been harvested from the gardens around our house. I continue to be amazed at what can be grown in a few small spaces.

Bounty
Bounty

On a whim this year, I planted pole beans around our front and back porch. It has been fun to watch the plants grow and climb. Every couple days, I walk around and make sure the vines are twining up the posts instead of wrapping around other plants in the garden. Some of the beans we have harvested have been about a foot long. While I haven not been able to pick enough for a meal, the children enjoy munching on the raw beans for a snack.

Pole beans on the porch
Pole beans on the porch
Pole beans and cherry tomato plant
Pole beans and cherry tomato plant

The cucumbers have been quite prolific. At first I wondered what was wrong with them as they were whitish-yellow, not green as I expected. Then I looked back at my seed catalog and noticed that they are a light skinned variety. The cukes taste just fine, although I think I prefer a green color.

Cucumber plants
Cucumber plants

These bell peppers are the first we have harvested this year. I like to let peppers fully ripen to their color of red, yellow,or orange; but I decided to pick these because some are being eaten at by something. I learned a few years ago, if you let the peppers sit out unrefrigerated, they will turn color.

Bell pepper plants and parsley gone to seed
Bell pepper plants and parsley gone to seed

The broccoli plants continue to produce some tiny stalks even though they have not done as well as I would have liked.

Here is one cabbage. Again, something was nibbling at it, making round holes; but I just peeled off and discarded the outer leaves.

The cherry tomato plant has yielded several tomatoes with more to come.

I have a beautiful zucchini plant with lots of blossoms, but the slugs are eating the zucchini before they have time to develop fully. Scattering broken egg shells around the plant has not deterred them; so I have poured salt on three slugs that I have found in the morning. I wonder if that is what is eating the cabbage and peppers too?

A look at the garden would not be complete without seeing some beautiful flowers. The Phlox and Black-eyed Susan are lovely this time of year.

blog pics 196
Beauty
Black-eyed Susan
Black-eyed Susan
More beauty!
More beauty!
Phlox
Phlox

Thank you God for the bounty and beauty of the Earth!

2 thoughts on “Bounty and Beauty in Small Spaces

  1. Stephanie, I really enjoy reading your blogs and seeing pictures of your garden. You inspire me to not be afraid to try new things even if they fail. Thank you for your encouragement.

    Like

Leave a Reply

