Dock Seed Crackers

A few months ago, I mentioned that the children and I participated in a class where we learned about wild edibles. My friend who led the class mentioned that you can make crackers from dock seeds. On our daily walks, I noticed plenty of seeds. I thought I would give the crackers a try, so I did an internet search for a recipe. Here is my version.

Dock seeds
Dock seeds

blog pics 156

Collect the dock seeds. Wait until they are dark brown and dried to harvest. Gently slide the seeds off the stalk. Grind 1 cup of dock seeds in a food processor. Mix with 1 cup of whole wheat flour. Add 1 tsp. of salt. Stir in enough water to make a pliable mixture, not sticky. Roll onto a cookie sheet. Score with a knife about 1 inch squares. Bake at 350 F degrees for 12-15 minutes or until crisp.

Harvested dock seeds
Harvested dock seeds

These are hearty crackers and quite tasty with a bit of peanut butter. While I would not use this recipe frequently, it is gratifying to know how to make nourishing food from the wild.

Crackers made with dock seeds
Crackers made with dock seeds
Leave a Reply

