Making Chow Chow

For a number of years, I have wanted to try making chow chow; but there never seemed to be enough of a variety of vegetables from the garden ready at the same time. This year, I looked around my kitchen and was pleased to see I had the vegetables I needed to give it a try. After perusing recipes from both cookbooks and the internet, I realized there is not just one way to make chow chow. I combined ideas from what I read, and here is what I did.

Raw vegetables
Raw vegetables

In a food processor on low, grind 3 large onions, 5 tomatoes that are not fully ripe, 3 bell peppers, 1 small head of cabbage, and 6 small cucumbers. Place mixture in a large pot. Add 2 cups of corn and 2 cups of green beans cut in 1/2 inch pieces to pot. Sprinkle with 1/4 cup of real salt. Let stand overnight. Drain. (I saved the liquid to use in soup.) Rinse. Combine 3 cups sugar, 2 cups apple cider vinegar, 1 cup of water, 1 tablespoon mustard seed, 2 teaspoons celery seed, and 1 teaspoon turmeric. Pour over vegetables. Bring to boiling. Boil for 5 minutes. Put in jars and process in a boiling water bath for 15 minutes. This recipe made 7 pints and a bit more to taste.

Canned chow chow
Canned chow chow

The chow chow was delicious if I do say so myself! I love it on the side of a meat, potatoes, and vegetable kind of meal. Plus the colors of the vegetables make a very pretty addition to a plate or table.

Children husking corn
Children husking corn
Leave a Reply

