Baking Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies on a Busy Saturday

On Saturday, I was in the middle of baking a batch of chocolate chip oatmeal cookies. My husband and daughter had just returned from a daddy and daughter birthday outing. The three boys were sliding around the kitchen floor excited to hear where their sister had gone for the morning. My husband had only a few minutes to drop off a few groceries and exchange a few words before he and our oldest son headed out to help a family unpack their moving van. As you can imagine, the scene was a bit chaotic. After they departed and the remaining children quieted down, I made sure I had the next cookie sheet ready to go in the oven and then sat down to check a few messages. When the timer went off, I pulled the cookie sheet out of the oven only to discover I had apparently stuck a pan back in the oven that was already baked and had several of the cookies removed from it. I guess I was a bit distracted! Surprisingly, the cookies were not burnt and still tasted fine.

Here is my Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookie recipe.

Cream 2 cups of sugar, 1 cup of honey, and 1.5 cups of butter.

Add and beat in 2 eggs.

Add and mix in 1 teaspoon of baking soda, 2 teaspoons of cinnamon, and 4 cups of whole wheat flour.

Add and mix in 4 cups of quick oats.

Add and stir in 1 cup or more of dark chocolate chips.

Bake at 375 degrees F for 10-12 minutes.

Makes approximately 6 dozen cookies.

These are a chewy and filling cookie. They do not last long around here!

Leave a Reply

