Baby Choi Stir-fry

Since we were blessed with a variety of seeds this year, I tried a few vegetables that are new to us.  One type of seed that I planted for the first time was Baby Choi.  A friend of mine has talked about loving Bok Choi, so I thought I would give it a try.  The leaves emerged and grew a bit, but the plant did not look quite like the pictures on the seed packet or on the internet.  I kept watching the plants; and before long, they produced beautiful, small yellow flowers.  At that point, I assumed the plants were bolting.  Internet research confirmed my suspicions, so I decided I had better harvest what I could if we were going to get to eat any of the Baby Choi.  That evening, we enjoyed a Baby Choi Stir-fry.  Here is what to do: saute chopped onions, garlic, and yellow bell peppers, in about two tablespoons of beef fat.  Add to the skillet: fresh parsley, the Baby Choi, a mixture of browned ground beef and venison, and cold, cooked basmati rice.  Stir-fry the the mixture for a few minutes until leaves are wilted and meat and rice are hot.  This is an easy and delicious dinner.  Our thirteen-year-old raved about it and was disappointed when there was not very much left for seconds.  As you can probably tell, I used the ingredients I had on hand; so the amounts are not very specific.  That is the beauty of cooking with what you have available, and stir-fry’s are a great way to use up bits of this and that in the kitchen.

Baby Choi Stir-fry
Baby Choi Stir-fry
Leave a Reply

