The Candy Jar and Re-purposing

I have to admit that I am not always good at thinking outside the box.  Often if there is an item that I no longer use, my first thought is to get rid of it instead of trying to think of how it could be used differently.  Every once in a while, I do surprise myself with a great re-purposing idea.  A few months ago, my husband pulled a glass jar out from under the kitchen sink and suggested we pass it along since I was not using it.  I agreed, but really it was an attractive and unusual shaped jar, kind of square-shaped.  Inspiration struck!  It would be perfect for a candy jar.  So I promptly dumped the children’s candy out of the boring plastic container into the lovely glass jar.

In general, the children are limited to one piece of candy a day, so all the Halloween, Christmas, Valentine’s, and Easter candy tends to last quite a while.  But by this time of year, the candy jar has dwindled; and I started to hear from them that there was “no good candy left in the jar.”  When I checked, I discovered what was left was mostly milk chocolate pieces.  What to do with it?  I know some people would throw it away, but I have a hard time wasting food even if it has no nutritional value.  Giving it away did not seem like a good option since it was all wrapped in holiday-colored foils.  Another light-bulb moment!  I decided to make peanut butter blossoms.  I usually associate those cookies with Christmas, but who says you can not enjoy them in the summer?  The peanut butter blossoms may not have won any presentation awards with a mixture of Hershey’s kisses, balls, eggs, coins, a Rolo, and even a music note; but they tasted just fine!

4 thoughts on “The Candy Jar and Re-purposing

  1. I have the opposite problem. I can hardly throw things away because I think of other uses for them, but don’t always get around to transforming them. I bet the jar looks great and the cookies were tasty.

    Like

Leave a Reply

