Hearty Lentil Stew

The first frost of the season graced the rooftops this morning.  The sun is shining, but there is a nip in air.  During the fall and winter seasons, soup is often what’s for lunch at our house.  It warms the bones and nourishes the body.  One of the children’s favorite soups is a Hearty Lentil Stew from the cookbook Simply in Season.  I enjoy making it because most of the ingredients come from our garden including tomatoes, carrots, onions, and parsley.  Whenever I hear of sickness going around, this is my go-to for loading us up with nutrients.  I figure all the onions, garlic, and parsley will help our bodies to fight off any germs we pick up when we are out and about.

Bowl of Hearty Lentil Stew
Bowl of Hearty Lentil Stew

Here’s the recipe with my modifications.

Hearty Lentil Stew

4 cups water (If I have leftover meat broth, I substitute for half of the water.)

1 cup dried lentils

1 cup fresh or canned tomatoes (or frozen)

4 large carrots, chopped

2 onions, chopped

1 teaspoon dried thyme

1/2 teaspoon dried marjoram

2 tablespoons dry sherry, optional (I sometimes slip in a bit of leftover brine from my fermented pickles)

(I also add 1-2 teaspoons of minced garlic)

Cook together until lentils and carrots are soft, 40-45 minutes.

1/4 cup fresh parsley, chopped

2-3 teaspoons salt (I use 1-1 1/2 teaspoons)

Stir in parsley and salt.  Heat another minute or so.  Serves 6.

We usually have mozzarella or monterey jack cheese on the side.  If I have time, I add cornbread to the meal.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

