Kingdom Come State Park, Take 2

My last post mentioned hiking at Kingdom Come State Park.  Later in the week, two of our children and I spent some time there again.  We began our hike at the Laurel Trail and made a stop at the Amphitheater.  We had been there before, but I was impressed anew at the massive rock structure.   The acoustics are amazing, and I wondered why I have not heard of any programs being held there.

20161006_163009

20161006_163501

Continuing on, we hiked the Power Line Trail which zigzagged up the mountain.  Hiking in the mountains is certainly not for the faint of heart. (I was amused to remember that when we had first moved back to the area with children,  I inquired if a homeschool field trip hike was stroller-friendly.  After living here for a while, I realize how silly that question was.)

As we reached the crest of the mountain, we joined the Raven Rock Trail.  Again I was amazed at the massiveness of the rocks.  To me they give evidence of the Great Flood.

We ended up hiking much further than we intended and had to walk down the road aways.  On the way back to the van, we spotted a log cabin shelter with a loft which the kids climbed up the ladder to peak into.  We also passed a grassy meadow, a play ground, and several picnic areas.

20161006_163622

Back at the van, we pulled out our picnic supper and watched the ducks swimming in the lake and a grandfather fishing with his granddaughter.

20161006_173733

The Park has so much to offer.  Come visit sometime!

2 thoughts on “Kingdom Come State Park, Take 2

  1. What a day! No one can accuse you of being faint of heart.

    On Sat, Oct 8, 2016 at 2:28 PM, Taste and See That the Lord is Good wrote:

    > Stephanie B. posted: “My last post mentioned hiking at Kingdom Come State > Park. Later in the week, two of our children and I spent some time there > again. We began our hike at the Laurel Trail and made a stop at the > Amphitheater. We had been there before, but I was impressed” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

