Beauty amidst the Gray

Gray days have been plentiful this year in Appalachia.  I have to admit, unless snow covers the bare hillsides, winter is not the prettiest season here; but every once in a while I catch a glimmer of beauty that speaks of God’s goodness.  On a warm day, we drove up the trail and glimpsed the majesty of the mountains.

20170208_214332

On my Main Street walks, the classic details of the houses on the left and the way the mountain sits over the downtown catch my eye.

20170207_172243

Today, when I came out of the office, I heard a sound like icy snow falling; but I knew it was too warm for that.  When I glanced up, I was amazed to see what appeared to be hundreds of birds fluttering around a tree.  The sound of their wings is what I was hearing.  They fluttered and flitted, snacking on red berries from the tree.  Every once in a while, the birds would fly off as a flock to a nearby tree.  In a bit, they would swoop back to the tree for seconds.  The creatures were a lovely gray with a bit of yellow on their heads.  I think maybe they were yellow finches in their winter garb, but I am not sure.  Pretty soon, a red-headed bird joined in the frolic.  After about an hour of gorging themselves, the tree was stripped of all its berries; and no more birds were to be seen.  On the picture it is hard to see, but this tree was covered with birds.  The sight was a welcome winter diversion.

 

Leave a Reply

